EMBO Workshop “Physics of living systems: From molecules to tissues”

Featured

From June 7-10, 2021, the Cluster of Excellence Physics of Life (PoL) is hosting a 4-day EMBO workshop to discuss recent advances in the field of biological physics, focusing on emergent principles that govern the dynamic organization of living matter.

Among other physicists, Prof. Guillaume Salbreux is in charge of the scientific organization.

The loss of the sense of smell explained by Ratatouille and Ivan Rodriguez

Featured

Loss of smell, also called anosmia, is identified as one of the symptoms of Covid-19. It is estimated that 8 or 9 out of 10 Covid-19 patients suffer from smell disorders. But what is going on in our brain that makes our nose unable to differentiate the smell of a good dish from that of a garbage scent? The details of Ivan Rodriguez, professor at the laboratory of neurogenetics.

Read the article (in French) online and watch the video.

How diet controls RNA maturation

Featured

Particularly sensitive to chemical modifications, messenger RNAs (mRNAs) are molecules responsible for transmitting the information encoded in our genome, allowing for the synthesis of proteins, which are necessary for the functioning of our cells. Two teams from the department of molecular biology, Ramesh Pillai and Florian Steiner ‘s labs, have focused on a specific type of chemical modification – called methylation – of mRNA molecules in the small worm Caenorhabditis elegans. They found that methylation on a particular sequence of an mRNA leads to its degradation and that this control mechanism depends on the worm’s diet.

The article was published in Cell, on April 29th 2021.

Check the UNIGE press release.

3D numerical simulations of the ocellated lizard skin colour patterning

Featured

The last study from the Milinkovitch’s lab uses reaction-diffusion (RD) numerical simulations in three-dimension on realistic lizard skin geometries and demonstrates that skin thickness variation on its own is sufficient to cause scale-by-scale coloration and cellular automaton dynamics during RD patterning. In addition, Anamarija Fofonjka and Michel Milinkovitch show that this phenomenon is robust to RD model variation. Finally, they show that animal growth affects the scale-colour flipping dynamics.

The article was published in the journal Nature Communications, on April 23rd 2021.

How the fly selects its reproductive male

Featured

Even a well-characterized genome, such as that of the Drosophila the so-called fruit fly, still holds surprises. Researchers from the Department of Genetics and Evolution, in collaboration with Cornell University (USA) and the University of Groningen (Netherlands), have discovered an RNA coding for a micro-peptide – a very small protein – that plays a crucial role in the competition between spermatozoa from different males with which the female mates. In addition to shedding new light on this biological mechanism, Robert Maeda and collaborators’ work highlights the importance of small peptides, a class of proteins that is now emerging as a key player in complex biological processes.

The article was published in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), on April 5th 2021.

UNIGE Press release

Grigorii Timin wins the Olympus Image of the Year Award 2020 for Europe

Featured

The company Olympus, a well-known provider of microscopes, organised the 2nd Global Image of the Year Light Microscopy Award to celebrate the very best in life science imaging worldwide.

We are very excited that an outstanding image recorded by Grigorii Timin, PhD student in the laboratory of Prof. Michel Milinkovitch has been selected as the best image for Europe.

The Milinkovitch laboratory investigates the development of skin scales in reptiles and Grigorii’s stunning image shows collagen fibers and dermal pigment cells in embryonic skin scales of the African house snake.

Full Resolution Download (37 MB)

 

 

Scaled, armoured or naked: how does the skin of fish evolve?

Featured

Usually scaled, the skin of fish can also be naked or made up of bony plates that form an armour, sometimes even covered with teeth. But how has this skin evolved over the ages? To answer this question, Alexandre Lemopoulos and Juan Montoya have reconstructed the evolution of the protective skin structures in fish, going back to the common ancestor of ray-finned fish, more than 420 million years ago. They found that only fish that had lost their scales were able to develop a bony armour, and that the protective state of their skin influenced their choice of open water or sea floor habitats. This study, published in the journal Evolution Letters, provides a new explanation for the incredible diversity of this lineage of fish, which includes more than 25,000 species.

The article was published in Evolution letters on March 23rd, 2021.

Press release

This study is also covered by other media :

La perte d’écailles chez certains poissons, une histoire d’habitat Sciences et Avenir, 30.03.2021

The skeleton of the malaria parasite reveals its secrets

Featured

Plasmodium is the parasite causing malaria, one of the deadliest parasitic diseases. The parasite requires two hosts —the Anopheles mosquito and the human— to complete its life cycle and goes through different forms at each stage of its life cycle. Transitioning from one form to the next involves a massive reorganisation of the cytoskeleton. Paul Guichard and Virginie Hamel’s group, in collaboration with Mathieu Brochet‘s group from the CMU, has shed new light on the cytoskeleton organisation in Plasmodium. Their research details the organisation of the parasite’s skeleton at an unprecedented scale, adapting a recently developed technique called expansion microscopy. Cells are “inflated” before imaging, providing access to more structural details, at a nanometric scale. The study identifies traces of an organelle called “conoid”, which was thought to be lacking in this species despite its crucial role in host invasion of closely related parasites.

The article was published in PLOS Biology on March 11, 2021.

Press release

This study is also covered by other media :

Du nouveau sur le parasite de la malaria RTS La 1ère / Journal 10h / CQFD*, 12.03.2021

EMBO Workshop “Physics of living systems: From molecules to tissues”

Mis en avant

Du 7 au 10 juin 2021, le Pôle d’excellence Physics of Life (PoL) accueille un atelier virtuel EMBO de 4 jours pour discuter des avancées récentes dans le domaine de la physique biologique, et plus particulièrement les principes émergents qui régissent l’organisation dynamique de la matière vivante.

Parmi d’autres physiciens, le professeur Guillaume Salbreux est en charge de l’organisation scientifique.

La perte de l’odorat expliquée par Ratatouille et Ivan Rodriguez

Mis en avant

La perte de l’odorat, également appelée anosmie, est identifiée comme l’un des symptômes de Covid-19. On estime que 8 ou 9 patients Covid-19 sur 10 souffrent de troubles de l’odorat. Mais que se passe-t-il dans notre cerveau pour que notre nez ne sache plus différencier les odeurs d’un bon plat de celui d’un parfum de poubelle? Les précisions d’Ivan Rodriguez, professeur ordinaire au laboratoire de neurogénétique.

Lire l’article en ligne et visionner la vidéo.

Comment l’alimentation contrôle la maturation des ARN

Mis en avant

Particulièrement sensibles aux modifications chimiques, les ARN messagers (ARNm) sont des molécules chargées de transmettre l’information codée de notre génome, permettant la synthèse des protéines nécessaires au fonctionnement de nos cellules. Deux équipes du Département de Biologie moléculaire, les laboratoires de Ramesh Pillai et Florian Steiner, se sont intéressées plus particulièrement à un type de modification chimique spécifique – nommée méthylation – des molécules d’ARNm chez le petit ver Caenorhabditis elegans. Elles ont découvert que la méthylation sur une séquence particulière d’un ARNm entraînait sa dégradation et que ce mécanisme de contrôle était dépendant de l’alimentation du ver.

L’article a été publié dans la revue Cell, le 29 avril 2021.

Communiqué de presse de l’UNIGE.

Simulations numériques 3D de la coloration de la peau du lézard ocellé

Mis en avant

The last study from the Milinkovitch’s lab uses reaction-diffusion (RD) numerical simulations in three-dimension on realistic lizard skin geometries and demonstrates that skin thickness variation on its own is sufficient to cause scale-by-scale coloration and cellular automaton dynamics during RD patterning. In addition, Anamarija Fofonjka and Michel Milinkovitch show that this phenomenon is robust to RD model variation. Finally, they show that animal growth affects the scale-colour flipping dynamics.

The article was published in the journal Nature Communications, on April 23rd 2021.

Comment la mouche sélectionne son mâle reproducteur

Mis en avant

Même un génome très bien caractérisé, comme celui de la drosophile ou mouche du vinaigre, réserve encore des surprises. En s’intéressant aux ARNs codant pour les protéines présentes dans le liquide séminal de la Drosophila melanogaster, des chercheurs du département de Génétique et Evolution, en collaboration avec l’Université Cornell (USA) et l’Université de Groningen (Pays-Bas), ont découvert un ARN codant pour un micro-peptide – une toute petite protéine – qui exerce un rôle crucial dans la compétition des spermatozoïdes provenant des différents mâles avec lesquels la femelle s’accouple. En plus d’apporter un nouvel éclairage sur ce mécanisme biologique, les travaux de Robert Maeda et ses collaborateurs soulignent l’importance des petits peptides, une classe de protéines qui apparaît aujourd’hui comme un acteur important dans des processus biologiques complexes.

L’article a été publié dans la revue Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), le 5 avril 2021.

Communiqué de presse de l’UNIGE

Prix Europe Olympus de la meilleure image de l’année 2020 pour Grigorii Timin

Mis en avant

La société Olympus, fournisseur réputé de microscopes, a organisé la 2e édition du Prix mondial de l’image de l’année en microscopie optique afin de récompenser les plus belles images en sciences de la vie à travers le monde.

Grigorii Timin, doctorant dans le laboratoire du Pr. Michel Milinkovitch a remporté le prix pour la meilleure image pour la région Europe.

Le laboratoire du Pr Milinkovitch étudie le développement des écailles de la peau chez les reptiles et l’image exceptionnelle de Grigorii montre des fibres de collagène et des cellules pigmentaires dermiques dans les écailles embryonnaires du serpent africain des maisons.

Version haute résolution téléchargeable (37MB)

 

Comment la peau des poissons évolue-t-elle?

Mis en avant

Assimilée aux écailles, la peau des poissons peut également être nue ou constituée d’une structure osseuse qui forme une cuirasse, parfois même recouverte de dents. Mais comment cette peau a-t-elle évoluée à travers les âges? Afin de répondre à cette question, Alexandre Lemopoulos et Juan Montoya ont reconstitué l’évolution des structures protectrices de la peau chez les poissons, remontant à l’ancêtre commun des poissons à nageoires rayonnées, il y a plus de 420 millions d’années. Ils ont ainsi découvert que seuls les poissons ayant perdu leurs écailles pouvaient développer une cuirasse osseuse, et que l’état de protection de leur peau influait sur le choix de leur habitat en eau pleine ou dans les fonds marins. Cette étude apporte une nouvelle explication de l’incroyable diversité de cette lignée de poissons, qui compte plus de 25’000 espèces.

L’article a été publié dans la revue Evolution Letters le 23 mars 2021.

Communiqué de presse de l’UNIGE

Ce sujet est également traité par d’autres médias :

La perte d’écailles chez certains poissons, une histoire d’habitat Sciences et Avenir, 30.03.2021

Le squelette de l’agent du paludisme révèle ses secrets

Mis en avant

Le Plasmodium est l’agent responsable du paludisme, une des maladies parasitaires les plus meurtrières. Au cours de son cycle de vie et de reproduction entre ses deux hôtes – le moustique anophèle et l’être humain –,  ce parasite prend plusieurs formes qui impliquent la réorganisation drastique de son squelette. L’équipe de Paul Guichard et Virginie Hamel, en collaboration avec le groupe de Mathieu Brochet du CMU, a justement posé un nouveau regard sur l’organisation de son cytosquelette en la détaillant à une échelle sans précédent, grâce à une technique récemment mise au point. Appelée microscopie à expansion, elle permet de «gonfler» les cellules pour accéder à des détails structurels nanométriques. L’étude identifie les vestiges d’un organite, le conoïde, considéré jusqu’ici comme absent de cette espèce, en dépit de son rôle important pour l’invasion des hôtes par des parasites proches du Plasmodium.

L’article a été publié dans la revue PLOS Biology le 11 mars 2021.

Communiqué de presse de l’UNIGE.

Ce sujet est également traité par d’autres médias:

Du nouveau sur le parasite de la malaria RTS La 1ère / Journal 10h / CQFD*, 12.03.2021